Winnie the Pooh birth sampler

A good friend of mine had her first baby earlier this year. I sent some Baby blooms while she was in hospital but I thought it would be nice to make a cross stitch birth sampler for her.

I’ve been over to the States recently on holiday (more on that in the next post), and started the birth sampler just before I left. I was hoping to take it on the flight with me but there seemed to be mixed experiences with stitching on flights from cross stitching forums. I bought a DMC thread cutter (instead of taking scissors) and decided to be upfront and ask when I checked in (so that I could pack it in my case if I couldn’t take it on the flight). The check in staff weren’t sure so phoned security who said it was fine. Thankfully I had no problems through security and was able to stitch on the flight. 🙂

I didn’t do much stitching while I was away but I did get chance to do some, and I’ve been doing it in the evening since I’ve been back too.

It’s an Anchor kit which I ordered from Sew and So (strongly recommended for UK stitchers, very good value and really quick delivery). It’s a fairly simple kit to do, although I didn’t realise you’re only supposed to use one thread for this and I’m used to using two so I’ve run out of a couple of colours. Our local garden centre sells individual skeins though so I’ll hopefully be able to get some more to finish it. I’ve still got a fair bit of stitching to do and there’s a lot of backstitch on this kit but hopefully I can finish in the next few weeks as I hope to visit my friend and her son soon.

3 thoughts on “Winnie the Pooh birth sampler

  1. So you were allowed to take the needle on? That seems crazy: you can take tweezers, cos they’re pointy….but you can take a pointed metal skewer?

    • I know, seems a bit mad doesn’t it. I didn’t think I’d be able to but some people on forums said they had so thought it would be worth a try – was great for the long flight. Does seem odd but then having said that, I don’t think the needle is any sharper than a pen (otherwise I would have numerous stab wounds!) and pens are OK.

Leave a Reply

