Debbie Mumm cross stitch kits

I bought a couple of Debbie Mumm Christmas cross stitch kits a while ago from Sew and So. Unfortunately, one of the glass frames arrived broken but Sew and So were fantastic and sent a replacement straight away. They mentioned that it is a notorious problem so I don’t know if they will stock these again – a shame really but I can see why, the packaging is nowhere near protective enough for posting.

Anyway, back to the kits. I saw these all in one kits which include eveything you need – thread, aida, needle, and frame – and thought they’d be a great idea for Christmas gifts. I bought two – one snowman design, and one penguin design. I’ll probably actually keep the penguin one as I adore penguins and it’s really cute!

I used a scroll frame for the first time on the snowman one, and it certainly helped keep the fabric tight but I did find that my thread holding it to the scroll came undone so I’ll have to secure it a lot more firmly next time. The majority of the design was worked in one thread, which was very fiddly and meant it was more difficult to secure the threads (I couldn’t do the loop method as that only works for designs which need two threads). For such a small piece it took me a long time to complete, although I was doing it on and off in between other pieces. The frame is really easy to make, and thankfully the snowmen matched up to the spaces in the frame. Here’s the finished framed piece, and a close up of one of the snowmen:

Debbie Mumm design - snowmen

Debbie Mumm design - snowmen

Debbie Mumm design - snowman close up

Debbie Mumm design - snowman close up

The other Debbie Mumm design (the penguin) was a far simply stitch – it is just one penguin on a small piece of aida using two strands (apart from the backgrounds which uses one strand) and only took me a few evenings and a weekend day. The backstitch on these designs really makes them stand out – it adds some much needed detail. I really like the frame that the penguin is in too, and again it was easy to make. Here’s the completed piece and a close up – just need to decide what to do with him now!

Debbie Mumm design - penguin

Debbie Mumm design - penguin

Debbie Mumm design - penguin close up

Debbie Mumm design - penguin close up

Leave a Reply

