Happy New Year!

I’m a bit behind, but it’s only January 2nd and yesterday I was having a lazy day with visitors and crafting. 😀

I had a lovely Christmas, and have really enjoyed having some free time without feeling guilty about not working. This week I’ve been mainly at home, and have been working on a cross stitch which I had initially hoped to complete by Christmas. As it was I hardly managed to start it, so I’m working hard on it to get it to the recipient ASAP (she did have another little gift but I really hope she’ll like the cross stitch).

It’s the Dimensions Weekend in Paris kit, which I actually bought in the States earlier this year. I wanted to do a smaller Gold Collection piece before I start my Regal Tiger, and spotted this which made me immediately think of a friend. I’ve bought a frame too, so I just need to get on with the stitching!

I’m enjoying stitching it – as with the previous Dimensions kit I did, it makes use of combined colours, and this one has a wide variety of different numbers of threads and lots of half stitch too. It’s beginning to take shape now – I’ve completed all the whole cross stitches so now have all the background to do which is half stitch, and the backstitch. This is it so far (apologies for the ring marks, I’ve been using a small hoop to keep tension):

Weekend in Paris - 2 Jan 2010

Weekend in Paris - 2 Jan 2010

As it’s the new year, a number of crafters have been making resolutions. I’m not going to make any specific resolutions, but I would like to continue stitching this year (it may be difficult when my MSc dissertation is in progress but I’d like to continue if possible), and I’d like to start Regal Tiger at some point this year. I’m also going to try to finish the current kits I have before buying any more – I have 2 lovely kits which I received for Christmas, and a Tatty Teddy kit to do which I haven’t started yet.

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2010 with lots of time for stitching! 🙂

One thought on “Happy New Year!

  1. Great stitching!

    Hope you get some stitching time whilst doing your dissertation, it’s good to take some time out now and again and stitching will be a great way to relax, all the best for 2010 🙂

Leave a Reply

