One finish and a new start

Weekend in Paris - completed

Weekend in Paris - completed (click for full size)

I have finally finished Weekend in Paris, and I’m really pleased with the results. The couching was a little unusual and I’m not sure I see the point for straight lines (which could just as easily be done in backstitch), but I can see the advantage for curved lines.

I just need to get it framed now and sent off to my friend (it was initially bought as a Christmas present!). Here’s a close up of the finished piece (before ironing and framing), you can see the couching in light silver on the letter outlines:

Couching - close up

Couching - close up (click for larger image)

New start

This was the only piece of stitching I had been working on this year, so it was time to start something new. I’ve been really keen (although also apprehensive!) to start Regal Tiger, so I bought a scroll frame for it. I got all my threads organised over the weekend, and then realised the scroll frame is not really big enough (it’s 1″ wider than the final image, but the fabric is much wider and I don’t want to cut too much off n case I make a mistake!). So I need to buy another scroll frame!

In the meantime I’ve started my Tatty Teddy Stars kit. I bought this AGES ago and haven’t got round to doing it yet, so I thought it would be a nice change and it’s a relatively small stitch. Most of the others in my “to do” pile will be larger commitments which I’ll probably start when I’m fed up of Regal Tiger! I’m enjoying Tatty Teddy so far, it’s nice to be stitching on pink fabric! 🙂

3 thoughts on “One finish and a new start

  1. This is lovely Jo. With Regal Tiger, could you not fold both edges over 1/2 inch before you attach it to the scroll frame? If you’ve got the edge margin to spare that is.

    • Thanks Lisa. 🙂

      There’s loads of extra fabric for Regal Tiger (like a good 6″) so I don’t think I’d be able to fold it. I’m sure I’ll be able to find another use for the extra frame!

  2. Pingback: 2010 completed projects « Joeyanne Crafts

Leave a Reply

