Not much to show…

This time of year is always tricky for craft bloggers as they are often working on Christmas gifts that they don’t necessarily want to show publicly in case the recipient comes across it. I’ve been working on a birthday gift too, so the last few weeks has been spent working on projects I can’t really blog about yet.

Here’s a sneak peek of one though:

20111110-000739.jpg

I don’t have much to report on the crochet progress either. I’ve been watching lots of videos but I haven’t been practicing and I still need to get used to holding the hook and thread correctly. I’m struggling with the left-handed issue too, so today I ordered a crochet book from Amazon that has diagrams for both left-handed and right-handed crocheters. Fingers crossed this will help me – it’s got great reviews!

I’ve been slipping into bad habits of working into the evenings again recently (one of the difficulties of working from home is that it’s hard to actual stop working!), but I’m determined to get back to crafts in the evenings – I really enjoy it and it definitely helps me relax more which has got to be a good thing. I’m struggling to sleep at the moment and am my own worst enemy – I’m lying in bed after midnight writing the draft of this blog post when I really should be going to sleep or at least trying to. Any tips for switching off and relaxing would be greatly appreciated!

5 thoughts on “Not much to show…

  1. I find it hard to switch off too. I try to stick to a time when I turn my phone off, so at least I’m powering down, but if I’ve got the knitting out or something it’s fatal – “I’ll just do another row…”

    Lovely cross stitch btw!

  2. Another craft blogger here who has nothing to post at the moment! But that’s because I’m doing an full-time MA and working. I would love to crochet properly too, but although I can do basic stitches I struggle to follow patterns. Good luck with your new book, and with sleeping!

    • Doh – I can spell. ‘too slowly’. And if you want inspiration check out Jan Eaton’s books or one by Heather Lodinsky – 150 blocks to knit and crochet. The stuff in Heather’s book is clearly marked for beginners to advanced so is very usable.

Leave a Reply

