Finding Nemo cross stitch

My sister has always loved Finding Nemo so I thought I’d stitch her something to celebrate her 21st birthday this year. I chose a kit with both Nemo and Marlin – a memorable scene from the film. It uses full stitches for the main image, backstitch for the outlining and half stitches for the background (plus french knots for the eyes).
 
I found a frame for the image but it was a slightly different size to the stitching so I did something I hardly ever do and adapted the pattern (I’m usually a follow each instruction to the letter kind of girl!). I added extra half stitches around the image to extend the stitching to fit the frame. Not much of a change I admit but it’s a big deal for me!
 
This was the original pattern:
 
20111212-193613.jpg
This is what the end result looks like framed with the extra stitches:
 
20111212-193546.jpg
I hope my sister likes it!
 
I think this is probably my favourite sort of size piece to work on – enough to give detail but manageable to hold whilst stitching and quick to see progress. This kit took approximately 2 weeks which is really quick for me (though that did include some days when I was off work on leave). I like having one large project on the go, but it’s nice to have smaller pieces like this too to have things to complete!

One thought on “Finding Nemo cross stitch

  1. Pingback: Nemo mittens | Joeyanne Crafts

Leave a Reply

